Where to Apply:
Residents of the State of Maine shall record notice of their intentions to marry in the office of the clerk of the municipality in which at least one of them resides. If only one of the parties resides in Maine, the parties shall record notice of their intentions to marry in the office of the clerk of the municipality in which the resident party resides. Once the intentions are filed and the license is issued, the parties are free to marry anywhere within the State of Maine.
The license is valid for a period of 90 days from the date the intentions are filed.
Maine Marriage Intention Form (VS2-A)
Out-of-State Residents must file their intentions to marry in any municipality office. Once the intentions are filed and the license is issued, the parties are free to marry anywhere within the State of Maine. The license is valid for a period of 90 days from the date the intentions are filed
Intentions of Marriage
The parties wishing to record notice of their intentions of marriage shall submit an application for recording notice of their intentions of marriage. The parties’ signatures must be notarized. No blood tests are required. As of September 19th, 2019, the State law has been amended regarding Legal Name Change Upon Marriage. The new language will require parties who plan to get married in Maine to provide their proposed new name(s) on the marriage intention application, marriage license and certificate if the parties intend to change their name(s) upon marriage. Parties who do not wish to change their name may leave the field blank or provide their current legal name. The parties new name(s) will become effective upon once the marriage record has been registered in the State’s database. The new name indicated on the marriage license will print on the marriage certificate. If there is a name change, parties still need to obtain certified copies after the marriage has been filed, and take that certificate to places that need to be made aware of the name change (i.e. BMV, Social Security, Health Insurance (if going on each other’s plan at work)).
Record of Social Security Numbers
As of 8/30/2012, the recording of Social Security Numbers are no longer required in the State of Maine, although they are still required under Federal Law, so they are on the form.
Filing Fee for Intention: The filing fee is $40.
If either party has been previously married, a certified copy of the death or divorce decree, whichever ended the previous marriage, must be presented to the clerk where the intentions of marriage are filed. The certified copy must be presented to the clerk prior to the issuance of the marriage license.
A certified copy of a divorce decree may be obtained from the clerk of courts in the court where the divorce was filed. The clerk of courts will certify the document using an embossed seal, or stamp. Photocopies are not accepted. A certified copy of a death certificate may be obtained from the clerk in the town/city of the place of death. The clerk will certify the document using an embossed seal. Photocopies are not accepted.
Couples who file in Ashland may appear in the Town Clerk’s Office on Monday-Thursday between 7:30 am to 4:00 pm, and Friday from 7:30 – 12:00pm. The office is closed weekends and holidays.
The certified death/divorce decree(s), if applicable, is presented to the clerk at the time of filing. The marriage license will not be issued without the proper decree(s).
Proof of identity, (e.i. driver’s license, passport, state I.D.) must be provided to the clerk at the time of filing.
The marriage license is completed by the officiant legally qualified to perform a marriage in Maine, and signed by two witnesses. The officiant is required to file the license within 7 working days of the ceremony with the clerk where the license was issued.
Obtaining Certified Copies
Certified copies of the license are available at the office of the clerk where the intentions were filed. A fee of $15.00 plus $6.00 for each additional copy is required.
To request certified copies from the Town of Ashland, the State of Maine requires you to fill out the Vital Record request form, and provide a copy of your driver’s license, state ID or passport.
If obtaining the certified copy in person, the Town of Ashland accepts checks, money orders, debits and cash. If obtaining via mail, only money orders are accepted. If paying by check or money order, please make payable to the Town of Ashland.